# SCCWRP Scientists Advisory Committees and Special Appointments

## FEDERAL ADVISORY COMMITTEES

Alliance for Coastal Technologies Governing Board (Stephen Weisberg)

Environmental Protection Agency Board of Scientific Counselors, Water Quality Committee (Stephen Weisberg)

Environmental Protection Agency National Estuarine Bioassessment Workgroup (Martha Sutula)

Environmental Protection Agency National Wetland Monitoring Workgroup (Chris Solek)

Environmental Protection Agency Science Advisory Board Report on the Environment Committee (*Stephen Weisberg*)

Environmental Protection Agency 2011 National Wetland Condition Assessment Workgroup (Chris Solek)

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Marine Debris Shoreline Monitoring Advisory Group (Shelly Moore)

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Science Advisory Board Oceans and Health Committee, Chair (*Stephen Weisberg*)

National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration Water Quality Synthesis, Assessment, and Data Management Technical Advisory Committee (*Eric Stein*)

Ocean Research and Resources Advisory Panel, Ocean Observing Committee (Stephen Weisberg)

United States Army Corps of Engineers, National Workgroup on Arid Stream Assessment (Eric Stein)

## STATE AND REGIONAL ADVISORY COMMITTEES

Areas of Special Biological Significance, Central California Coast Regional Monitoring Committee (*Kenneth Schiff*)

Areas of Special Biological Significance, Natural Water Quality Committee (Kenneth Schiff)

Bay Area Wetlands Regional Monitoring Program, Science Advisory Group (Eric Stein)

California Clean Beach Task Force (Stephen Weisberg)

California Algae Taxonomy Group, Technical Advisory Committee (Betty Fetscher)

California State Stream and Wetland Protection Policy, Science Advisory Team (Eric Stein, Martha Sutula)

California Ocean Protection Council, Science Advisory Team (Stephen Weisberg)

California Ocean Science Trust Board of Trustees, Chair (Stephen Weisberg)

California South Coast Marine Life Protection Act, Science Advisory Team (Stephen Weisberg)

California State Stream and Wetland Protection Policy, Science Advisory Team (Martha Sutula)

California Water Quality Monitoring Council (Stephen Weisberg)

California Wetlands Monitoring Workgroup (Eric Stein, Martha Sutula)

Central Coast Wetland Workgroup (Eric Stein)

Center for Ocean Sciences Education Excellence - West Center, Advisory Board (Steven Bay)

Southern California Stormwater Monitoring Coalition, Co-Chair (Kenneth Schiff)

Southern California Wetland Recovery Project, Science Advisory Panel (Martha Sutula)

Southern California Wetlands Recovery Program Science Advisory Panel, Chair (Eric Stein)

State Water Resources Control Board, Hydromodification Assessment Technical Workgroup (Eric Stein)

Surface Water Ambient Monitoring Program Algae Bioassessment Subcommittee (Betty Fetscher)

Surface Water Ambient Monitoring Program Bio-objectives Subcommittee (Kenneth Schiff)

## LOCAL AND PROJECT ADVISORY COMMITTEES

Assessment of Ecosystem Values of Watersheds in Southern California, Technical Advisory Committee (*Eric Stein*)

Ballona Wetland Restoration, Habitat Assessment Technical Advisory Committee (Betty Fetscher)

Ballona Wetland Restoration Scientific Advisory Committee, Co-chair (Eric Stein)

Los Angeles River Metals Total Maximum Daily Load and Site Specific Objectives (SSO), Technical Advisory Committee (*Steven Bay*)

Malibu Lagoon Restoration, Technical Advisory Committee (Martha Sutula)

Malibu Legacy Park, Technical Advisory Committee (Eric Stein)

National Workgroup on Assessing Ecological Performance of Wetland Mitigation, Science Advisory Panel (*Eric Stein*)

Newport Bay Naturalists and Friends, Research Committee (Martha Sutula)

Newport Beach Fecal Total Maximum Daily Load, Technical Advisory Committee (Donna Ferguson)

Ormand Beach Wetland Restoration Technical Advisory Committee (Martha Sutula)

San Diego Creek Selenium, Technical Review Committee (Martha Sutula)

San Francisco Estuary Institute, Exposure and Ecological Processes Workgroup (Stephen Weisberg)

San Francisco Estuary Institute Sources Pathways and Loading Work Group (Eric Stein)

San Francisco Estuary Institute, Toxicity Workgroup (Steven Bay)

Santa Clara River Estuary, Technical Advisory Committee (Martha Sutula)

Santa Monica Bay Restoration Commission Technical Advisory Committee, Vice Chair (Steven Bay)

Tijuana River Estuary Restoration, Technical Advisory Committee (Martha Sutula)

# SCIENTIFIC SOCIETIES

American Water Works Association, Joint Task Group for Echinoderm Fertilization and Development Test Section of Standard Methods, Chair (*Steven Bay*)

California Estuarine Research Society, Treasurer (Martha Sutula)

Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry, Education Outreach Subcommittee Chair (Steven Bay)

Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry, International Membership Committee (Doris Vidal-Dorsch)

Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry, National Student Committee (Doris Vidal-Dorsch)

Society of Wetland Scientist, Western Chapter President (Eric Stein)

Society of Wetland Scientists, Wetland Concerns Committee (Eric Stein)

Southern California Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry, Past Chapter President (Kenneth Schiff)

Southern California Regional Chapter of the Society of Environmental Toxicology and Chemistry, Board of Directors (*Wenjian Lao*)

Southwest Association of Freshwater Invertebrate Taxonomists, Treasurer (*Raphael Mazor*) Water Environment Research Federation, Trace Organics Eco Risk Steering Committee (*Steven Bay*)

### **UNIVERSITY COMMITTEES**

California State University, Fullerton, Dean of Natural Sciences, Advisory Council (*Kenneth Schiff*)

California State University, Long Beach, IIRMES Research Facility, University Review Committee (*Kenneth Schiff*)

University of Southern California Sea Grant, Advisory Board (*Stephen Weisberg*)

### THESIS AND DISSERTATION COMMITTEES

Master's Committee, Brenda Luk, California State University, Los Angeles (Kenneth Schiff)

Master's Committee, Brian Haines, Colorado State University (Eric Stein)

Master's Committee, Christina Vanderwerken, California State University, San Marcos (Betty Fetscher)

Master's Committee, Lauren Washington, Scripps Institution of Oceanography, University of California, San Diego (*Eric Stein*)

- Ph.D. Committee, Reagan Converse, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill (John Griffith)
- Ph.D. Committee, Donna Ferguson, University of California, Los Angeles (Stephen Weisberg)
- Ph.D. Committee, Bob Hawley, Colorado State University (Eric Stein)
- Ph.D. Committee, Irina Irvine, University of California, Irvine (*Eric Stein*)
- Ph.D. Committee, Steve Lee, University of California, Los Angeles (*Eric Stein*)
- Ph.D. Committee, Tracey Magrum, Loma Linda University (Martha Sutula)
- Ph.D. Committee, Heliana Teixeira, University of Coimbra (Stephen Weisberg)